3 new PAP candidates for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC


3 new sets of school uniform candidates were announced by the ruling PAP for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

They are Chee Hong Tat, Chong Kee Hiong and Saktiandi Supaat who will replace Wong Kan Seng, Zainudin Nordin and Hri Kumar Nair who will be stepping down.

Here are the men-in-white who are expected to serve the residents of the GRC.

Dr Ng Eng Hen, 56, Defence Minister

Dr Ng is the current Defence Minister as well as the Leader of the House in Parliament. He previously served as the Manpower Minister from 2004 to 2008, and Education Minister from 2008 to 2011. He has been a Member of Parliament (MP) with the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC since 2001.

Mrs Josephine Teo, 47, Senior Minister of State for Transport and Finance 

Mrs Teo is the Senior Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Transport. She has been an MP with the Bishan Toa-Payoh GRC since 2006.

Mr Chee Hong Tat, 41, former Second Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry

Mr Chee, a resident of Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, is married with four children. He joined the Civil Service in 1998 and worked in the Ministry of Home Affairs, Finance, Transport and Education, before being appointed as Principal Private Secretary to Mr Lee Kuan Yew in 2008. He became Chief Executive of the Energy Market Authority in 2011, and was appointed Second Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Trade and Industry in 2014.

Mr Chong Kee Hiong, 49, Chief Executive Officer, OUE Hospitality Trust

Prior to joining OUE Hospitality, Mr Chong was the CEO of The Ascott from February 2012 to May 2013 and CEO of Ascott Residence Trust Management from 2005 to February 2012. From May 2001 to September 2004, he was with Raffles Holdings as their chief financial officer.

Married with four school-going children, Mr Chong is also the vice-chairman of the Bishan East CCC and chairman of NTUC Foodfare.

Mr Saktiandi Supaat, 41, Head of Foreign Exchange Research, Maybank

Mr Saktiandi is the Executive Vice President and Head of the FX Research team in Global Markets, Global Banking of Maybank. Prior to joining the private sector in 2010, he was a Lead Economist in the Economic Policy Department of the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Married with three young children, Mr Saktiandi is the chairman of the Malay/Muslim Community Leaders’ Forum Labs Steering Committee, and is currently a board member in SPRING and the Civil Service College.

The three new candidates will replace lawyer Hri Kumar Nair, Singapore football chief Zainudin Nordin and former Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng, who will not be contesting the upcoming elections.

This entry was posted in All Posts, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s